AWARDS, APPOINTMENTS, ACCOLADES



Fifective July 1, 2014, Dr. Gillian Hawker was appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine, University of Toronto. The Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto is one of the longest-standing and largest in North America with over 1,200 faculty distributed throughout the Toronto region—including six fully-affiliated hospitals—and 740 postgraduate trainees in 21 residency programs. As Chair, she will hold the title of Sir John and Lady Eaton Professor; this post was established in 1919 as the first full-time endowed chair in medicine in what was then the British Empire.

A rheumatologist at the University of Toronto, Dr. Hawker has an established record of academic excellence, with national and international recognition as a leading clinical epidemiologist/health services researcher in the field of osteoarthritis (OA) outcomes. Dr. Hawker has continuously received peer-reviewed research funding from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) since 1994 and has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles in high-impact journals. She is a founding member of the Arthritis Alliance of Canada (AAC) and a member of the Board of the International Society for Osteoarthritis Research (OARSI). In 2013, she received a Queen's Jubilee Medal from The Arthritis Society (TAS) for her contributions to OA research.



r. Rayfel Schneider is a paediatric rheumatologist at The Hospital for Sick Children. He has held a number of leadership positions in the Department of Paediatrics, including Director of Undergraduate Medical Education, Division Chief, and Subspecialty Program Director of Paediatric Rheumatology. Since 2007, he has been the Associate Chair for Medical Education, overseeing all educational activities in the Department of Paediatrics, with a particular focus on subspecialty training programs for Canadian and international learners. He was instrumental in establishing the Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS) for paediatric subspecialties. He has won numerous departmental, university, and national teaching awards, and was recently the recipient of the 2013 Paediatric Chair of Canada Educational Leadership Award and the 2014 University of Toronto Mickle Fellowship Award for long-term contributions to postgraduate education.

His major clinical focus is juvenile idiopathic arthritis (JIA) with a specific interest in systemic JIA, and one of its most serious complications, macrophage activation syndrome. His research has focused on prognosis, outcome, and clinical treatment trials for these patients, as well as the development of diagnostic and treatment guidelines.



r. Cy Frank is one of 64 new appointees to the rank of Member of the Order of Canada for 2014. The Order of Canada is one of our country's highest civilian honours and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community, and service to the nation. Dr. Frank received his appointment for his contributions to advancing orthopedic healthcare services in Alberta and for his scientific contributions to bone and joint repair research.

Dr. Frank is currently the President and Chief Executive of Alberta Innovates – Health Solutions, a Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the University of Calgary, and the McCaig Professor in Joint Injury and Arthritis Research. He helped develop the Sport Medicine Centre and the McCaig Centre for Joint Injury and Arthritis Research at the University of Calgary. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) and chaired a Blue Ribbon International Panel for CAHS on "Defining the Best Framework and Metrics to Capture Returns on Investment in Health Research". Between 2000 and 2006, Dr. Frank was the inaugural Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) Institute of Musculoskeletal Health and Arthritis, as well as serving as the Executive Director of the Canadian Orthopedic Association (COA), Canadian Orthopedic Research Society (CORS), and the Canadian Orthopedic Foundation (COF), as well as Vice-President Research Strategy for Alberta Health Services. Recent awards include: International Bone and Joint Decade Builder (2005), CIHR/Canadian Medical Association Journal Top Achievements in Health Research (2010), Alberta's 50 Most Influential People (2011), Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2013), and "Member of the Order of the University of Calgary" (2013).